

## SANGAMON COUNTY WATER RECLAMATION DISTRICT

3000 North Eighth Street Springfield, Illinois 62707 217·528·0491 TEL 217·528·0497 FAX

**Board of Trustees** 

Richard T. Ciotti President

Jim M. Reinhart Vice President

John M. Pasko Clerk

Rex Bangert Trustee

Drinda OConnor Trustee

Paul Ed Vehovic Treasurer

Brian Schackmann Secretary

Bruce Stratton Attorney

Justin Reichert Human Resources Officer

Gregg S. Humphrey PE PLS Executive Director

Jason Jacobs PE District Engineer



MEMBER Illinois Association of Wastewater Agencies Public Notice August 19, 2016

Construction of renovation and improvements to the Sangamon County Water Reclamation District's Sugar Creek Plant, Springfield, IL were partially financed by the Clean Water State Revolving Fund (SRF). The SRF program is administered by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency and receives a portion of its money to fund these types of projects from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. This project includes construction of an upgraded sewage treatment plant, which will provide a 50% increase in treatment capabilities for the plant. Once complete, it will improve water quality for area residents and businesses in the City of Springfield and surrounding Sangamon County communities by providing biological nutrient removal for ammonia and phosphorus along with increased capacity to help alleviate system flooding. SRF programs operate in each state to provide communities the resources necessary to build, maintain, and improve the infrastructure that protects one of our most valuable resources: water.